jump to navigation

say my naymz April 9, 2008

Posted by nicholas gill in linked in, naymz, social media, social networks, web 2.0.
trackback

I’ve had 2 emails this week from people who I used to work with asking me to join Naymz – a new kind of professional social network. Always a little skeptical, my first thought when the lovely Joanna’s invite popped up was, uh oh, here’s another Quechup. And then Nik’s email popped up. So having not heard of Naymz, decided to do some investigation. (You’ll also note a Linked In invite which I happily accepted as I know Murray well and am comfortable with the Linked In networking thing).

Back to the search: I actually found the most relevant info and a heart-warming tale on Ben Poole’s blog who had signed up for Naymz and received nothing but spam. Not a great advert you’d think but track down to the comments.

There’s the co-founder of Naymz responding personally to the criticism. Not some flunky but the big man himself. And the conversation continues. And continues and each time he answers the criticism openly and honestly and points to content on the site to help answer. And the question I’m asking, I’m on Linked In, why do I need another business social network?” is helpfully answered. A great example of listening to the interweb conversations and actively particpating. Certainly put a positive slant on my view of Naymz.

But despite this, I’m also a little worried of social network overload what with Linked In, Facebook, Twitter, IM, my Google Reader (inbox zero achieved again today!), my blog, the research/inspiration emails I sign up to and not forgetting my work email, hotmail and gmail accounts. Do I need another? Will I ever get anything done? Can I be bothered to ask all my friends for the 3rd time to be my friend/part of my plans for world domination (er, sorry, professional network)? Or can I afford not to manage my online reputation and am I already seduced by the desire to want a big shiny “10” on my page?

naymz reposcore 10

I’ll mull it over. Be interested to know your view.

Comments»

1. abunchofwordz - December 1, 2008

Like you, I’m a little overwhelmed by ALL the social networking sites. And this is coming from someone who spends a great deal of her spare time on the computer.

I sign up for stuff, play with it for a few weeks, then neglect the site for months (and feel guilty about it).

I’ll wait to see if it takes off, but despite knowing my own tendencies, I’ll probably end up signing up for it because I’m a sucker for anything internet.

2. Online reputation irony « Dolly's Doings - July 13, 2009

[…] Nicolas Gill however writes a very to-the-point- post and trough him I learn that Naymz founder Tom Drugan acutally is making an effort to answer to the critzism – and oh, I acutally saw that post on Google as well, but I guess it didn’t stick. Looking at it again, I realize the comments started in Jan -08 and ended in Apr -09 – Poor Tom, he’s been working hard on Naymz reputation! He acutally answered Kung Fu’s post as well! Thumbs up for Tom Drugan. He’s persistent, you gotta give him that! Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Irony Performance @ Yedang Online Power Concert 080503More from Andrew Brown, technology-maven of the GuardianIs There Any Irony In Buying Fitness Equipment Online? […]


Leave a Reply

