jump to navigation

influential talker or listener? November 6, 2007

Posted by nicholas gill in Blogroll, forrester, management, stats, thought leadership, thoughts, wikipedia.
trackback

wikipedia influencers

I found this on Forrester as part of a project I’m doing about how to use social media to influence people who are on the fence (that’s as much as I can say right now due to NDA stuff). This is a grab of a chart in a Forrester study into Wikipedia and it’s use and influence sphere. Take a closer look though at the statements. “I am a natural leader, people always listen to my opinion.” I dunno, as someone who’s a little more humble and human, I’d find it very hard to answer that in the positive as my takeout would be “I talk a lot and don’t listen, steamrollering my way through leaving others in my wake.” As a lot of my peers, especially those on my blogroll, will tell you, listening is just as, if not more important than espousing your own opinion. I would much rather be classed as a leader who has a vision and ideas but is willing to listen, collaborate and co-create to get the best result. What’s your view?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

