jump to navigation

the bar of expectation October 25, 2007

Posted by nicholas gill in diageo, digital advertising, email, social networks, thoughts, word of mouth.
trackback

 diageo drinks portfolio

I got an email today from the good people at Diageo. Just tell us a few things and you could win a load of our drinks and related paraphernalia. Interestingly, I was part of the team that created the first “portfolio” campaign for them back in the day when I worked on the account (so I also know they do deliver goodies to the winners!). So nostalgia drew me in. I clicked. And waited. And waited some more. Approx 3 mins went by. Refresh. Refresh. Site down page eventually pops up.

site down

I suddenly realised that this experience hasn’t happened to me in a while. You used to grudgingly accept that sometimes stuff wouldn’t work because the web was all new fangled ‘n’ that. But not today. I click, something shows up. It works.

My take out from this shows how the expectation level has been raised higher and higher in terms of response times and receiving the right content. Page not found and site down are not tolerated anymore. I guess I won’t be winning as I won’t be trying again later. I also wonder if they’re watching the social media space to get any reactions to this?

BTW, the title wasn’t intended to be a pun but I guess it kind of works.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

