jump to navigation

organised me May 28, 2013

Posted by nicholas gill in app, productivity.
trackback

Lists. In my notebook. On my phone. On my desktop. In emails. In various notebooks at home. Failing to get to inbox zero. Trying to wade through gmail and work email to find crap. Or poorly organised folders on my desktop.
Stuff. Lots going on. Busy at work. Ideas bubbling over. Have just moved house. Have just had another child. Interrupted sleep. Lots to do. Getting lost. Not doing things. Missing things. Forgetting things. Losing track.

So I’m trying to be more organised. Like this:

iCloud: using our calendar for home stuff. So my iPhone tells me when stuff is happening. House viewings, when kids are at pre-school, their various clubs and activities, doctor and immunisation check ups etc. Less hassle of checking between emails, texts, scraps and home diary.

Notes on iPhone: useful for sharing to do’s and lists across iPhone, iPad and iMac that we can both update.

Evernote: I’ve had Evernote for a while but not really indulged properly. Reading up, it strikes me you have to commit. So I have. Links, a few documents, stuff I always forget, documents I want to grab easily. As a result, I now have 0 emails in my inbox. Gmail is also empty. I know I could do more. I need to read up. It’s quite liberating.

Easily Do: I’ve been looking up smart assistants for some time. Easily Do takes care of a lot of things automatically such as letting you schedule Happy Birthday posts on Facebook to be delivered on the day. I know, sounds really dim doesn’t it? But checking the Birthday notification has become a daily habit. It also brings you popular and important posts. I probably need to stay away from Facebook to see how valuable this is as I’ve seen most of them by the time it tells me about them. It sends a text when I’m on my way home. I just hit “Do It”. Easy. The receipt filing is sweet. It could be better integrated to Twitter though as that appears to do nothing right now. Same with Linked In. I tweeted them to ask if they were planning on developing a To Do list addition to the service. this would make it really useful to me. I haven’t heard back. If they could also incorporate a digest of Twitter feeds and incorporate some kind of Virtual Assistant into it then it really would be a great app. As is, I’m not so ingrained that I couldn’t swap – recommendations requested?

Any.Do: I’ve tried a few reminder/task apps recently and this one not only looks super cool but is really easy. I like the daily reminder to “take a few moments” to plan the day. The aesthetics and usability make it really easy to like and use. I disliked the way a few of the other apps appear suited to hardcore project manager types, I just want to try and get things done.

Magnetic shopping & meal planner:¬†Bits of paper can work. This one especially. Left hand side, every day of the week with space to put meals in. On the right, a shopping lists with various sections. With a pencil holder (and pencil) and a magnetic stripe so it sticks to your fridge. It’s amazing. It makes shopping a breeze rather than a random list that means you criss-cross the shop and take forever. Yes, I know we could save time doing online shopping and for the best part of two years we have done that. But we live near a Waitrose now. And it’s quite nice to go in there. Even the kids prefer it to Tesco and Sainsbury’s.

I’m sure there’s more. I’ll keep this post updated. Do let me know any recommendations.

Comments»

1. i almost did it | [bluurb] stuff and things - September 16, 2013

[…] Sometimes this takes a few minutes, more usually about 10 – 20. Usually time to attempt the inbox zero challenge and catch up on the social […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

