jump to navigation

social clean up January 16, 2012

Posted by nicholas gill in personal brand, social media, social networks, unfriend.
trackback

January is typically a time for New Year’s resolutions. But I typically don’t stick to them so I haven’t made any this year. Instead, quite by accident, I found myself gaining much self-satisfaction from cleaning up the social media tangle I find myself in.

It all started quite innocuously by being bored of the same update from several people on Twitter. I mean, really, we ALL read Mashable and the like. Why re-tweet it? So I stopped following them. Then I figured I should review who I was following:

  • People who haven’t said anything in months? Unfollow.
  • People who I followed more out of faux fraternity of being employed together rather than wanting to find out what they were really doing? Unfollow.
  • People who post things that are just not interesting to me anymore. or ever. Unfollow.
  • And worst of all, people without a real picture! Unfollow.

And Twitter is now an easier place. I still follow people I like, can find inspiration and new things from and find amusing. It also takes less time to catch up. And there’s blissfully few repeats.

And then came Facebook. Similar rules applied. Although oddly I found this a little harder. Maybe in the Facebook frictionless sharing world I would be outed as a serial unfriender? But after a few test unfriends, this didn’t happen. So I carried on. The net result again is a smaller, more defined, more real social network. There’s still work to be done. Especially when I peek at Linked In and see updates from people I haven’t got a clue who they are and think, “hmm, must be a recruiter.”

I’m not the only one who is doing this. It all started out as a bit of a rush. Collecting people, with the “friend”, “followers” or “connections” number being directly attributable to your social worth. Of course this is, and always was, bollocks. It’s quality, not quantity that counts. And while I’m very much in the “don’t know well” category from the infographic above, there are many who are cleaning up their networks for a variety of reasons. The net result though, is I’m enjoying my social circles again. It’s also why I’m highly reluctant to start another collection on Google Plus.

So if I no longer follow you or appear as your friend, it’s not personal, it’s just business.

Image source.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

