jump to navigation

vote on the next generation of talent and win August 24, 2009

Posted by nicholas gill in next generation talent, onlinefire, panasonic, user generated content, video.
trackback

[Update 27.10.09]
And the winner is.. Romaine Reed. Congrats to Romaine & Carolyn – the headphones are definitely still coming to you! See comment #23 below for more.

[original posty]

I’m delighted to have been asked to be a judge on this year’s Panasonic Next Generation Talent contest which is seeking to do what it says on the tin and find the hottest UK creative student talent.  The winner will bag themselves a priceless work experience placement at one of Panasonic’s top creative agencies as well as a huge Viera TV plus other cool stuff.

So here’s the deal. You tell me what you think of these four fine finalists and I’ll do a random draw to give one of you lucky folk these Panasonic noise-cancelling cans which are being offered to me for spouting forth my judgely opinion. You need to get your responses in to me by midday on Friday 28 August 2009 – use this blog or @nicholasgill. You need to bear in mind the brief when reviewing the entries:

“Produce a TV ad to promote the Panasonic G10 Viera with FreeSat Home Hub TV, leveraging the Everything Matters brand positioning.”

So here’s the four entries:

Paul Bryan @ Loughborough Uni

Romaine Reed, Ravensbourne College

Steffan Harrison, Ravensbourne College

David Childs-Clarke, Ravensbourne College

Using your comments and my own thoughts, which I’ll pop into comments during this week, these four will get whittled down to two from September 7 when full on public voting will begin with the finalist announced on September 18 to live the life of riley in ad land.

Any q’s, drop me a line.

Disclosure: I don’t work for Panasonic or their agencies but think this is a cool campaign to highlight the superb creative talent we have in this country so I’m chuffed to talk about it.

Huge thanks to Melanie @ OnlineFire.

Share this Post

Comments»

1. Paul - August 24, 2009

Dude.
Here’s my opinion for what it’s worth.

Second – I feel as though I’ve seen this before (maybe an old Apple Ad) but there’s 4 Ad’s slammed into one
Third – Seems to be a poor mans 1985 Argos ad and misses the convergence message
Forth – This one misses the HD quality point

Even though I watched Paul’s Ad first and though is was all over the shop, it had the cleanist of messages and best production value (understand their students but there’s good and cheap technology out there)

2. A J Smith - August 25, 2009

David Childs: artistically I like this ad, but it misses the brief. It appears to advertise the “Panasonic brings HD to Life” slogan, not the current product.

Steffan Harrison: Shows the product and names it, not quite sure how they work together

Romaine Reed: States “Everything Matters”, nice movement and pacing but reads more as an Apple ad in style, second place?

Paul Bryan: Ah so this is the TV that can do everything! Best of the bunch, gets the message across but strobes a bit fast for comfortable repeat viewing. Still would be my winner.

3. Siobhan - August 25, 2009

Hi Nicholas,

Here we go then:

Number 1= This gave me a headache. It didn’t really appeal as there was too much going on, especially with the black screen popping up every second. I do enjoy stop motion(-esque?) animation, but this was just too chaotic.

Number 2= I enjoyed the concept, however, I think the negative space could’ve been used more effectively. I appreciate that it’s done by a student & is effectively a prototype, however, it cheapened the look and would need to be worked on (in my opinion).

Number 3= It was ‘ok’, the music was good, it had a ‘seductive’ sound that would attract attention. However, it looked very unprofessional and basic, not a strong contender.

Number 4= An experimental video that would appeal to a younger audience. I enjoyed the music, composition and innovativeness of the piece. I think as it doesn’t really display the product, it would create intrigue. It’s kind of reminiscent of the iPod adverts, but also completely different. I don’t think it ‘misses the point’ of HD as I think the creator is using the “Red & Green snow’ you get on Plasma tv’s. This I think explains the snowboarder, which I found really amusing and entertaining.

*Get’s off design soap box* Overall, Number 4 gets my vote. It’s subtle, innovative and really answers the brief.

Cheers Nicholas! Good Luck with the judging :) May the best design win.

4. susan surgeoner - August 25, 2009

Hi, here’s my opinion for what it’s worth:

1. I really didn’t like this at all. I think I would turn away from my tv if this came on – very hard on the eyes, although I did like the music.
2. I liked this one, good use of colours, everything seemed to flow well and the classical music was ‘classy’. Very professional
3. Thought this one was okay, but quite boring – reminded me of an ad they would show in a cinema (especially the music). Good detail of the products, but apart from that, mediocre
4. I think this one was probably the most creative of the four, but I didn’t particularly like it (may be an age thing – I think its aimed towards the late teen market). Having said that, very creative and that little bit different.

Overall, my vote would go to No 2 – I really liked this one, the use of colours, the fact that it seemed to flow seamlessly from one thing to another. 4 very good ads, but No 2 gets my vote.

5. Michael - August 25, 2009

1. Easily the most preofessional & slick, and with the clearest message. OK, so the message was wrong (the new TV doesn’t have ‘video’ built in for example, or a games system, so why show these in the earlier shots?), and it went on way too long at the end, once the new TV was seen. But still, gets my vote.

2. Rather like the initial idea of this one, with the flowing lines. Reminiscent of 1950s government animated promo films. Once it got into wrapping images around the back of a TV etc though it faded qucikly. Imagination missing there, and soundtrack didn’t really work with the images.

3. Looks like the sort of cheap ‘muzad’ (ie muzak style ad) that was around yonks back. The sort that gives a bad impression of a brand, basically saying they can’t be bothered to spend more than a fiver on promoting themselves. Don’t want to be too harsh, but I would give this 0 out of 10.

4. What does a phone have to do with a TV? Lost me there. BUT, if this was an ad for a camera, could work in many places. The most distinctive and appealing of the four. Message flawed though, as with first. Surely, when HD shows up the ad ought to reflect this, whereas as it stands it just says ‘poor image quality, even with HD’ to me.

As things stand I can only vote for #1, and it wins by a mile/kilometre :-)

6. Martin B - August 25, 2009

Miscellaneous ramblings:-
#1 – great music, fast / hard cuts, but don’t see how it met the brief
#2 – met the brief (good start), slick, most profressional looking of them all, but the music should have built through the ad, rather than just being a nice piece of classical music tacked on to the video
#3 – a good set of linked images – but they were all stills, with a bit of zoom / track thrown in, so not very inspiring. Met most of the brief, but music was mediocre – no focus to it
#4 – just reminded me of naive pixel art, and nothing to show the benefits of HD, dreadful overall – maybe I’m not the target audience, but the images were bad. On the + side, the music was well linked to the rest of the ad
Overall favourite, judged against the brief, was #2, but the music needs improving

7. Keith C - August 26, 2009

#1 Was Ok but an epileptics worst nightmare!
#2 Was by far the best, looked very professional, did the job!
#3 The music was rather irritating which put me off the ad
#4 Nice visuals but, don’t think it fulfilled the brief, at all!

8. ellen - August 26, 2009

This is what I think:

1. I like this one, because it’s quirky, but gives a clear message about the ‘evolution’ of television and the quality of the Panasonic. It also looks professional.
2. This one ties the different Panasonic products well together and I also like that it shows panasonic’s slogan at the end. However, seems like just a collection of images.
3. This one I think is the least creative and even a bit boring, because all it does is show you close ups from Panasonic items.
4. This one grabs your attention and uses light and colour well. However, I don’t think it advertises HD as the images/letters seem pixellated. It does not advertise the product well.

I would vote for no 1, it stands out, it’s individual but at the same time advertises the Panasonic product well!

9. Stuart - August 26, 2009

Paul – I liked how the concept of convergence but, as others have said, the almost constant strobing was very distracting and made viewing less pleasant than it could have. It was also a bit mixed as the TV could not perform all the functions of the devices shown.

Romaine – Quite a basic advert which didn’t make me want to investigate the brand any further. Seemed more like a slideshow.

Steffan – The production value of this advert seemed a lot higher than the rest and was my favourite of the four.

David – Liked how it was completely different to the rest and it stood out as a result. The message wasn’t very clear, however. The style was let down a bit because of the video compression on YouTube, which was unfortunate.

10. Andy Hayes - August 26, 2009

1. To strobe like for me, but not bad .
2. Simple but fun professional advert.
3. A predictably simple professional advert
4. Unusual and gets the message across

Some of the reviewers above seem to have commented on message and production value.
I however see no relevance to this when the objective is to choose a “creative talent” in order
to then teach that chosen person the skills. With this objective, the course is I’m afraid wasted on No.3, sorry Steffan but you have the skills already yet I see no creativity in this example to harness.
All the other 3 have unique ideas, but for me the most creative are 2 and 4 each has something quite unique that may signal a talent.
So I’d put 2.Romaine and 4.David to the public vote.

11. Natalie Henderson - August 27, 2009

1. Very clever but far too much strobe – gave me a headache!!
2. I really like this one – definitely the best for me. Simple and gets the point across very nicely.
3. Didn’t seem to get the message across and I don’t think it made it clear what it was selling with all the products in the last shot.
4. I don’t think this worked very well as an advert for for the product – if I was watching that without knowing anything about it, I wouldn’t know what it was for.

12. Phil D - August 27, 2009

1) I couldn’t cope with the flashing images, I had to look away. Sorry.

2) I liked this, but it was second best (just) in my opinion. I liked the clever flow between the imagery, and found the music enhanced the experience. But, it lacked the immediacy of some of the others.

3) I found this an interesting advert, but a bit derivative, I felt like I’d seen something similar for most brands at one time or another – so not much brand seperation.

4) For me, this was the clear winner. It was clever in its concept of using changing pixels. What is high def at its rawest anyway? Pixels – the more the better. Also, this did not remind me of countless adverts I’d seen before – it’s fresh and innovative and had brand seperation in spades.

13. Diane Halliwell - August 27, 2009

No 1 is certainly lively and eye-catching but a bit too ‘flashy’ for me, jumping around a lot.
No 2 has nice flowing grapics, varied images, good colours.
No 3 seems a bit short, but shows lots of detail on the products, well arranged.
No4 is lively and colouful, very imaginative but doesn’t actually tell you much about the product.
I found it difficult to choose between No 2 and No 3, but would slightly give the edge to No 2 as the most pleasing to watch.

14. Carolyn - August 27, 2009

1 – Definitely too much flashing between images.
2 – Loved the colours and the use of shape – especially liked the blue swirls coming out of the camera.
3 – Really focused on the brief; I liked this one a lot too.
4 – Made my eyes hurt too and it’s not clearly focused on the brief.

I preferred 2 and 3 out of all of them but found 2 just a little bit more interesting to watch – the colours were fabulous.

15. Julian Serna - August 27, 2009

1) The timeline of tv’s was very nicely done – the flashes between the images can be slightly irratating.
2) Very good use/mix of colours and products
3) Very simplistic but good – could have possibly used a bit more animation like the other videos.
4) interesting idea, modern however did not seem to advertise the products like the other videos.

I prefer no 1 and 2 – both videos in my opinion are great in different ways. no 1 would personally capture my attention more.

16. Peter Arnold - August 28, 2009

1. Amazing. Grabs the attention and retains it. Very slick production.

2. Very annoying music. The effects got a bit “powerpointy” as the video progressed. Didn’t really like it.

3. Nice visuals of the product but this advert wouldn’t get anyone watching. Music didn’t seem to fit either.

4. Very cool and highly creative. Doesn’t show off the product well though.

1 wins!

17. Callum Farraway - August 31, 2009

Out of all 4 number 3 showed all the panasonic range simply yet effectively. Gave the panasonic an upclass, seductive feel that people of today would buy into as said by many other people below.

Could of been a bit more technical but overall wins my vote.

18. Charlotte - August 31, 2009

I agree that Steffans adverts showed the panasonic products and in detail. I also feel that with this advert the music is a lot slower than the other 3 adverts but it works well though because it is seductive and draws the viewer in, making them focus only on the Panasonic products. The other three adverts do not draw the viewers attention directly to the Panasonic branding and Panasonics branding logo that everything matters.

Yes the advert could be more techinical but the skills are there it just needs a tiny bit more attention and time. By far this is the best advert and in terms of the brief, it promotes all the products asked to promote. I liked the others but they do not show all the products like number 3. in the first advert it is very confusing and frankly not that clear what is being advertised. Number 4 also.

Number 3 appeals to me the most and would make me want to buy the product.

19. Zenith - September 1, 2009

Out of all 4 number 3 showed all the panasonic range simply yet effectively. Gave the panasonic an upclass, seductive feel that people of today would buy into as said by many other people below.

Could of been a bit more technical but overall wins my vote.;. All the best!!

20. nicholas gill - September 2, 2009

Dear all
Thanks so much for contributing to this. Great comments and interesting that there’s such a broad split of views and favourites. So here’s the 2 things I promised: winner and my feedback.

1. the winner
Using this wonderful random number generator (http://www.mariasguides.com/2007/06/28/random-number-generator-for-excel/) the winner is (drum roll)… Carolyn!
I’ll ping you an email for your contact info to send the cans when I get them form the agency.

2. the feedback panasonic requested form me on favourites. This is what I’ll be submitting to them:

What entry stood out to you most?

#1 (Paul Bryan) had the most stand out because of the unique approach and arresting visual qualities. The other entries had a somewhat “me too” flavour perhaps save for execution # 4 (David Childs-Clarke) which also displayed some personality and originality.

What entry exhibited the most creativity? Why?

# 4 (David Childs-Clarke) because it demonstrated story-telling in a way that was unusual, unexpected and avoided the other approaches of showing the other kit in a clunky way. It did miss the dramatisation of the HD quality which could be further developed.

What student do you think exhibits the most potential? Why?

# 4 (David Childs-Clarke) because of the different way of approaching the brief by telling a story. OK so some of the key product USPs may not be immediately apparent but creating a visual narrative rather than relying on product is compelling and different. Has good potential to build on.

If you had to pick two entries to make it through to the next round, which would you choose? Why?

I’ll use some of the quotes from the commenter’s to my blog to explain my choices:

#1 (Paul Bryan)
The cleanest of messages and best production value
Best of the bunch, gets the message across
Easily the most professional & slick, and with the clearest message. OK, so the message was wrong (the new TV doesn’t have ‘video’ built in for example, or a games system, so why show these in the earlier shots?), and it went on way too long at the end, once the new TV was seen. But still, gets my vote.
Great music, fast / hard cuts
I like this one, because it’s quirky, but gives a clear message about the ‘evolution’ of television and the quality of the Panasonic. It also looks professional.
Is certainly lively and eye-catching
Amazing. Grabs the attention and retains it. Very slick production.

# 4 (David Childs-Clarke)
Enjoyed the music, composition and innovativeness of the piece. I think as it doesn’t really display the product, it would create intrigue. It’s kind of reminiscent of the iPod adverts, but also completely different. I don’t think it ‘misses the point’ of HD as I think the creator is using the “Red & Green snow’
You get on Plasma TV’s. This I think explains the snowboarder, which I found really amusing and entertaining.
His one grabs your attention and uses light and colour well
The most distinctive and appealing of the four.
Very creative and that little bit different.
Liked how it was completely different to the rest and it stood out as a result.
Unusual and gets the message across
Has something quite unique that may signal a talent
For me, this was the clear winner. It was clever in its concept of using changing pixels.
Also, this did not remind me of countless adverts I’d seen before – it’s fresh and innovative and had brand separation in spades.
Lively and colourful, very imaginative
Interesting idea
Very cool and highly creative

Will update the post with the chosen 2 finalists when public voting begins & update on the eventual winner. Thanks again!

Nick

21. nicholas gill - September 28, 2009

Update 29.09.09.
The two finalists selected by the client are #1 Paul Bryan and #2 Romaine Reed. Public voting is now open at http://www.nextgenerationtalent.co.uk/vote/. There is a Lumix camera up for grabs in a raffle for one lucky voter.
Good luck!

22. nicholas gill - October 27, 2009

Update 27.10.09
And the winner is.. Romaine Reed. Congrats to Romaine & Carolyn – the headphones are definitely still coming to you!
Here’s the official stuff from Panasonic & Romaine on the winner.

John Dixon, head of Brand Communications at Panasonic UK, comments: “Romaine’s entry creatively captured the unique benefits of the new generation of Panasonic HD TV in the most innovative way. We would like to congratulate Romaine on his outstanding achievement and thank all of our entrants for participating and making Next Generation Talent such a success.”

Romaine’s ad will be showcased on national television as well as on http://www.panasonic.co.uk. In addition, Romaine will take home over £2,500 in Panasonic gear and have his portfolio reviewed during a two week work placement at one of Panasonic’s top creative agencies where he will have the opportunity to learn from the very best in the business.

Romaine Reid says about his winning entry: “I wanted to show off the great features and benefits of each product within Panasonic’s HD Home Hub series. From a variety of colours, to High-Definition footage, films and family events which can be captured with the camcorder. I wanted the advert to be fast paced, theatrical and exciting for the viewer to watch. I hope this message translates into the fun experience people can have with the products on show. After all… Everything Matters.”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

