jump to navigation

sometimes we all need to look at things differently June 4, 2007

Posted by nicholas gill in thoughts.
trackback

 710 cap

I’m fortunate enough to be on the joke/fun stuff/odd stuff/filth distribution lists of quite a few friends. I got one this morning that’s an oldie but a goodie. Whilst of course it’s a “blonde” joke and raises a chuckle, I must be feeling quite cerebral today as I also took out that sometimes it helps to look at things from a different angle. After all, being in the melting pot of an agency with different skills, outlooks and talents, let alone language and culture, makes you appreciate how bringing diverse people together can bring about magical results.

At a former agency, they invested heavily in a different method of really understanding an individual and the make up of the team. The method was called Enneagram. It sounds a little trippy to start with and the tutor freaked me out a little (ok, a lot) by taking her shoes off and lighting some candles in the middle of the room. But once you strip away your self doubt, it becomes really enlightening. I learned a great deal about myself and my team and it helped us have a far better understanding of how we like to work, what we really think and how to react to each other. And fundamentally, how the different types of people fit together to make the team better together than alone.

enneagram

I learned a lot about myself during the process including the stuff you don’t really want to hear. I am a no. 3, which I always thought was a left back and I’m a right footer. I should re-read my stuff. It made a big difference to my life and made me realise that I should dedicate more “me-time” – which recent events have re-iterated to me in quite a brutal way.

This is one of the best books on the subject.

And here’s the joke about the 710 cap:

A blonde woman enters a mechanic shop and asks the clerk for a 710 cap.

The clerk is surprised and goes to the warehouse clerk and asks him about a 710 cap.

He doesn’t know either so he calls a mechanic over and asks him about a 710 cap, but nobody has heard of a 710 cap.

The woman insists and says it is a part that goes on her motor and that it had mysteriously disappeared. She needed to find a new 710 cap.

Considering nobody knew anything about a 710 cap, the clerk asked the woman if she could draw this 710 cap

The woman, who incidentally had taken some drawing classes, didn’t have a problem with this, being she remembered what the 710 cap looked like.  She took a piece of paper and a pencil and drew a circle about 8 cm in diameter and wrote in the center the number 710.

Thanks to Tammy Molden for sending the 710 cap

Image from

 

Comments»

1. Nick - June 11, 2007

I’m a 3 too. That means we are supposed to bitch fight. Or something.

2. nicholas gill - June 11, 2007

How about cock block?

3. Bob Marley - March 18, 2008

im a 9 and i am here to keep the peace
now eat some el es dee and check out http://www.lavadream.com

4. nicholas gill - March 19, 2008

@ Bob
Great to hear from you from beyond the grave and for the advice and the trippy link. I think an ennegram #9 suits you well to keep the peace, man. Don’t worry about a thing, every little thing is gonna be allright…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

